RIP to BT Garner of MindRec.com... He passed away early 2023 from health problems. BT was one of the top PCE homebrew developers and founder of the OG Turbo List, then PCECP.com. Condolences to family and friends.
IMG
IMG
Main Menu

TurboDuo audio problems maybe someone can solve?

Started by PCEngineHell, 04/23/2005, 05:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PCEngineHell

Basically its like this.I have a Pc Engine briefcase setup,but there is a U.S. Turbo Duo on ebay right now that seems to be going cheap.In the auction description its listed as having audio problems with the cd audio.It states the data loads fine,but cd audio cuts out about 80 percent of the time.
Is this a cd-drive problem you think,or a overheating problem on one of the chips?If its a overheating problem,then could it maybe be solved by blowing dust out,and maybe installing a cooling fan?Anyway,I know this is a tired subject with some of you,but as I have no experience with Duo systems,the more info I could get,the better off Id be,about choosing to win this thing off ebay.I am willing to bid around $200.00 if its a repairable problem most likely.Anyway,let me know what you think!!!

TurboHuC6280

Could be any number of things;  Bad solder joint in the CDROM drive, bad pins, bad DAC.  I doubt it's an overheating issue.  CDROM DACs don't tend to get too terribly hot.

esteban

Here are my two cents:  I wouldn't go as high as $200 for a Duo w/ a known problem.  Also, I'd be surprised if it gets that high (unless a bidder was careless and overlooked the item description).  

I'd err on the side of caution and hold out for another Duo.

That's just me, of course.
IMGIMG IMG  |  IMG  |  IMG IMG

dj898

if you are going to spend that much stick with Duo-R/RX mate...  :shock:

Necro